Seismological Laboratory

Central seismic laboratory of WIHG is at Dehradun where real time seismic data is collected from the remote seismic stations of NW Himalaya. The laboratory is well equipped with the computational facilities to achieve, process and interpret the seismic data in real time mode.

Seismic stations

Presently three seismic networks are in operation in NW Himalaya

Garhwal seismic Network
Kangara-Chamba Seismic network
Kinnaur Seismic network

GPS stations

There are several permanent GPS stations in the NW Himalaya to monitor geodynamic deformations.


Earthquake risk mitigation is performed for different cities by local site conditions using two methods

Multi channel analysis of the shear wave (MASW)
Nakamura technique. Microzonation studies have been carried out at Dehradun, Delhi, Chandigarh and Jammu cities.


The MPGO is designed to study the earthquake precursors in an integrated manner. The MPGO is equipped with Overhauser magnetometer, tri-axial fluxgate magnetometer, magnetotelluric, SG, ULF-band induction coil magnetometer, radon data-logger, water-level recorders and is backed by the dense network of broad-band seismometers (BBS) and Global Positioning System (GPS).

Magnetotelluric (MT)

Magnetotellurics (MT) is a natural-source, electromagnetic geophysical method of imaging structures below the earth’s surface. These naturally occurring electromagnetic signals induce currents inside the Earth. Simultaneous measurement of electric field and magnetic field time variation at the surface of earth allow estimation of resistivity with depth. Depth of penetration of EM signal is inversely related with the frequency of EM. WIHG is having two broad band MT for imaging lower and upper crustal structures and four LMT (Long period magnetotelluric) for imaging full thickness of lithosphere.


Himalaya School Earthquake Laboratory program (HIMSELP) has been carried out in 58 schools of northern India to provide awareness and training for school children.