Directors’ Profile

Dr. Kalachand Sain, Director , WIHG

Dr. Kalachand Sain, FNA, FASc, FNASc, FTAS, FAPAS
J.C. Bose Fellow, GoI

Director, Wadia Institute Of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun.

Kalachand Sain obtained his M.Sc. (Tech) in App. Geophysics from IIT-ISM, Dhanbad and Ph.D. in Active Seismology from CSIR-NGRI (Osmania University), Hyderabad. He visited Cambridge University (UK) and Rice University (USA) as a post-doctoral Fellow, and USGS (USA) as a Visiting Scientist. He is the Director at Dehradun-based Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology – An AI of DST, GoI. Earlier, he was the Chief Scientist & Head of Seismic Group at CSIR-NGRI. He is also an honorary Outstanding Professor at AcSIR, Ghaziabad.
Widely travelled Geo-scientist and visited 20 countries and made collaborations with 10 international organizations/universities. He delivered more than 104 lectures as plenary, invited and keynote speaker at different occasions on advanced geophysical techniques: seismic tomography, AVO modeling, attribute characterisation, rock physics; AI/ML; geo-tectonics, seismo-tectonics; energy perspectives in difficult terrains: thrust-fold belt of Himalaya, sub-volcanics and deep oceans; unconventional energy resources: gas-hydrates and geothermal; climate change, assessment and mitigation of geo-hazards due to earthquakes, landslides, avalanches, flash floods; early warnings, etc. He organised 22 sessions in international/national forum, chaired 40 sessions, conducted short courses, handled many projects of National importance. He has published 185 SCI articles; 138 Non-SCI articles/documents; 5 Authored books; 7 Edited volumes; Supervision of 13 Ph.D. and 70 Master dissertations. He is a Fellow of all three Indian Science Academies: INSA (New Delhi), IAS (Bangalore), NASI (Allahabad), as well as Fellow of AP Akademi of Sciences (Hyderabad) and Telangana Academy of Sciences (Hyderabad); Recipient of J.C. Bose National Fellowship of SERB-DST, National Merit Scholarship by Min. of Education, Raman Research Fellowship of CSIR and BOYSCAST Research Fellowship of DST.
Honored with Distinguished Alumnus Award of IIT-ISM, AP Scientist Award, National Geoscience Award by MoES, National Mineral Award by MoM, YS Award of CSIR, Krishnan Medal and Decennial Award of IGU. He is the Vice President of IGU; Secretary General of FIGA; Member of National Committees of SERB-DST, CSIR, MoES, DST, MoE, MoEFCC, Science Academies, RACs/GBs of many National Institutes and Universities.
Some of his remarkable achievements are:

  • Established Gas Hydrates Research Center with world-class facilities at CSIR-NGRI, Hyderabad
  • Developed AI-based approaches for automatic delineation of subsurface features from surface data
  • Established AI Centre of Excellence at WIHG, Dehradun for AI/ML application to geosciences data
  • Developed 2D full-waveform tomography of wide-angle seismic data, first time in India
  • Characterized and evaluated gas-hydrates in KG, Mahanadi and Andaman basins validated by drilling
  • Estimated critical parameters – pre-requisite for development of gas-hydrates production technology
  • Delineated high-resolution crustal structures over several geo-tectonic provinces of India
  • Led scientific cruises for (i) heat flow, (ii) gas-hydrates & (iii) imaging subduction plate geometries
  • Identified seismic precursors from 2021 ice-rock avalanche leading to develop early warning system
  • Working on how to convert Geothermal Green Energy into Electrical Energy in UK Himalaya
  • Demonstrated subsurface hydrological imbalance to the recent land sliding (2023) at Joshimath
  • Leading a Project on “Characterization and Assessment of surface and subsurface Processes in Himalaya for Seismogenesis, Geodynamics, Geo-hazards, climate-tectonics, and Natural resources

For complete CV click here.